Indiana prohibits operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI), also known as driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI). The OWI laws make it illegal to drive any vehicles while using alcohol or drugs. The DUI laws in Indiana include blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits, criminal sentences including jail time and fines, driver's license suspensions, and implied consent to alcohol and drug testing if you’re driving.

In Indiana, if a driver's BAC reaches 0.08% then no other evidence is required to show that the driver was impaired to be convicted of an OWI charge. This is a " per se " BAC limit DUI law. Indiana law also subjects anyone under the legal drinking age in Indiana ( 21 years old ) to an even lower BAC level of 0.02% because they aren't of age to drink. This type of policy of is called a " zero tolerance law ." Even if an underage driver didn't drink enough to feel drunk, he or she can still be found to have been drinking and driving. Those under 21 with a BAC between 0.02% and 0.08% can receive a Class C infraction or ticket punishable by up to a $500 fine .

Penalties for OWIs/DUIs in Indiana vary based on the driver's BAC level, the age of any passengers, and the number and type of prior convictions. A first OWI with a BAC of 0.08% to 0.15% or using a controlled substance commits a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.

Indiana prohibits operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI), also known as driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI). The OWI laws make it illegal to drive any vehicles while using alcohol or drugs. The DUI laws in Indiana include blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits, criminal sentences including jail time and fines, driver's license suspensions, and implied consent to alcohol and drug testing if you’re driving.

In Indiana, if a driver's BAC reaches 0.08% then no other evidence is required to show that the driver was impaired to be convicted of an OWI charge. This is a " per se " BAC limit DUI law. Indiana law also subjects anyone under the legal drinking age in Indiana ( 21 years old ) to an even lower BAC level of 0.02% because they aren't of age to drink. This type of policy of is called a " zero tolerance law ." Even if an underage driver didn't drink enough to feel drunk, he or she can still be found to have been drinking and driving. Those under 21 with a BAC between 0.02% and 0.08% can receive a Class C infraction or ticket punishable by up to a $500 fine .

Penalties for OWIs/DUIs in Indiana vary based on the driver's BAC level, the age of any passengers, and the number and type of prior convictions. A first OWI with a BAC of 0.08% to 0.15% or using a controlled substance commits a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.

Ohio became a separate territory in 1800 and a state in 1803. Illinois was a part of Indiana Territory from 1800 until 1809, when the area was divided and Illinois Territory was established. The laws of Indiana Territory to 1809 were compiled into a single volume in 1930. The Illinois Historic Preservation Agency has given their permission to digitize the volume, which is also available in print in many Illinois libraries:

Philbrick, Francis S., editor, 1930. The laws of Indiana Territory, 1801-1809 . Collections of the Illinois State Historical Library volume 21, Law series volume 2. WIU Malpass Library ILLINOIS 977.308 I29c v.21 This volume was digitized in two parts :

An index to laws of the territory and state of Indiana to 1890 was digitized from the collection of Cornell University. It includes the time period when Illinois was part of Indiana Territory:

Employee Handbook - Indiana


Indiana Code - Wikipedia

Posted by 2018 article

51JRTFP1ZXL